EdTech Situation Room Episode 4

Episode 4 of of our Blab.im powered weekly podcast featured insightful commentary by special guest Mike Agostinelli (@mikegusto), as well as regular hosts Jason Neiffer (@techsavvyteach) and Wes Fryer (@wfryer). Mike and Jason joined from the NCCE Conference in Seattle, Washington, and had better connectivity during the show than Wes did. Despite bandwidth challenges spiking in central Oklahoma, the show conversations included a refreshingly wide range of topics. These included the Michelle Obama announcement of the “Open eBooks’ App,” the demise of Google’s Picassa web photos service, the possibilities of IFTTT and the programmable Internet of Things (IOT), the announcement of forthcoming 5G cellular data connectivity, the urban/rural connectivity divide, and “The New Colonialism” (potentially) of Facebook and Google. Geek of the Week links included Google History, the Stickbot animation app, a mobile app for rotating videos and the AppleTV “Space Station Live” app. Check out our shownotes on https://edtechsr.com/links for all our referenced resources and more. Remember to tune in next Wednesday night at 10 pm Eastern / 9 pm Central / 8 pm Mountain / 7 pm Pacific.

Shownotes:

  1. Follow @edtechSR on Twitter!
  2. Watch Episode 4 on YouTube
  3. Audio podcast feed (Subscribe with iTunes)
  4. Video podcast feed
  5. Subscribe to our YouTube Channel (episodes also in this YouTube playlist)
  6. Subscribe to @edtechSR on Blab.im
  7. Mike Agostinelli (@mikegusto)
  8. Jason Neiffer (@techsavvyteach)
  9. Wesley Fryer (@wfryer)
  10. The White House and Michelle Obama Release $250M ‘Open eBooks’ App for Title I and Special Education Teachers (EdSurge, 24 Feb 2016)
  11. Open eBooks site: http://openebooks.net
  12. Openwashing – the new Greenwashing by @opencontent (classic post from July 2011)
  13. Google Is Laying Picasa in the Grave, Moving Over to Google Photos (LifeHacker, 12 Feb 2016)
  14. AT&T to Begin Testing 5G, 10-100 Times Faster Than 4G LTE (MacRumors, 12 Feb 2016)
  15. Facebook and the New Colonialism (The Atlantic, 11 Feb 2016)
  16. OZeLive (free online conference by and for Australian educators) @ozelivecon
  17. Jason’s Geek of the Week: Your Personal Google History – history.google.com
  18. Wes’ Geek of the Week 1: Video Rotate & Flip (free, for iOS)
  19. Wes’ Geek of the Week 2: ISS Spotter (free, for iOS) & “Space Station Live” AppleTV app
  20. Mike’s Geek of the Week: Stickbot Studios (free app for iOS and Android)
  21. Audio Bumper for the audio podcast of this show: “News Theme” Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com) Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.